64

1957 Treaty of Rome

1973 First enlargement

1981 Admission of Greece

1986 The 12 state Europe came into being with Spain and Portugal

1995 EU-15

2004 The **25** state EU

- The first real attempt to establish a European common market —limited to the mining of coal and steel— the Economic Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), was made in 1951 by means of the Treaty of Paris. France, the Federal Republic of Germany, Italy, Belgium, Netherlands and Luxembourg all participated.
- This process of integration was an attempt to enlarge to other economic subjects and the nuclear energy sector. The European Economic Community (EEC) or common market and the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM) was set up in 1957 by means of the Treaty of Rome.
- The success of the six founding countries resulted in the United Kingdom, Denmark and Ireland all deciding to join in 1973. Greece did the same in 1981.
- A twelve state Europe was established in 1986 with the incorporation of Spain and Portugal. The reunification of Germany in 1990 led to the incorporation of the federal states of Eastern Germany.
- The Treaty of Maastricht (1992) conferred new powers and responsibilities on community institutions and introduced new forms of cooperation between member state governments. The name European Union officially came into being.
- In 1992, the EU decided to embark upon Economic and Monetary Union (EMU). The single currency, the Euro, became a reality on 1 January 2002.
- In 1995 the fifteen state Europe was created with the entry of Austria, Finland and Sweden.
- The last enlargement of the EU occurred in May 2004 with the incorporation of ten new states: Czech Republic, Estonia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Slovenia and Slovakia; the twenty five state Europe then came into being.
- Current candidate countries expected to enter the EU are: Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania and Turkey.

Europe Day is celebrated on 9 May