National Classification of Education. CNED-2014

 Classification of programmes at educational levels (CNED-P)

 Classification of programmes, qualifications and certificates at educational levels achieved (CNED-A)

 Classification of programmes and qualifications in fields of education (CNED-F)

 Correspondence tables


The National Classification of Education CNED-2014 enables the comparison, integration and analysis of data on education between the different statistical operations and countries. It is the result of the adaptation of the previous version, CNED-2000, to changes introduced in the national education system since 2000, and the new international framework defined by the International Standard Classification of Education (ISCED) 2011, passed by the UNESCO in 2011 and the Classification of Fields of Education and Training (ISCED-F-2013), approved two years later.

The CNED-2014 is composed of three classification units:

  • the classification of programmes by educational levels (CNED-P)
  • the classification of programmes, qualifications and certificates by educational levels achieved (CNED-A)
  • the classification of programmes and qualifications in fields of education (CNED-F)

Like the ISCED, the CNED has been revised in two phases: in the first phase the CNED-P and CNED-A were revised, which entered into force on January 2014, and then the CNED-F was revised, coming into effect on January 2016. With this observation and by similarity with CNED-2000, the 3 sub-classifications are kept together with the general denomination of CNED-2014.

Important information about cookies

This website uses its own and third party cookies in order to provide a better service. These cookies are not used to collect personal information. If you continue browsing you are considered to accept their use.